Grand Final history calling Joel, Tigers with many medals apart from one
3 min read
fairly easy
Richmond and Geelong have an abundance of premiership experience
Glory days: Joel Selwood with the premiership cup in 2009, and Trent Cotchin in 2019. Pictures: AFL Photos

GEELONG captain Joel Selwood will write his name into the history books and become the club's first ever four-time premiership player, should the Cats overcome Richmond in Saturday night's Toyota AFL Grand Final.

In a decider laden with premiership experience, there are also 14 Tigers who will look to become triple-premiership players should Damien Hardwick's team record its third flag in four seasons.

But it's Selwood who could make the most history, with the Geelong skipper the sole survivor of all three Cats teams that tasted the game's ultimate success in 2007, 2009 and 2011.

GRAND PLANS What time does the Grand Final start?

Selwood, Harry Taylor, Tom Hawkins and Mitch Duncan were all part of the team that claimed the 2011 premiership and remain entrenched in Geelong's current side, while Cam Guthrie was also at the club in that season but was not picked for the Grand Final.

Joel Selwood and Tom Hawkins celebrate Geelong's 2009 premiership. Picture: AFL Photos

Club legend Gary Ablett, who will be looking for his third premiership, was part of the teams that claimed glory in 2007 and 2009. However, he left for Gold Coast in 2010 and wasn't part of the 2011 premiership.

BARRETT Shades of Lethal in Little Master's last dance

Elsewhere at Geelong, Luke Dahlhaus has enjoyed flag experience with the Western Bulldogs in 2016 and is…
Riley Beveridge
Read full article