Jason Johannisen
Brandan Parfitt
Marcus Bontempelli
Western Bulldogs
Scott Lycett
Michael Hibberd
Stefan Martin
Sam Powell-Pepper
Mitch Wallis
Port Adelaide Football Club
Esava Ratugolea
Luke Dahlhaus
Mitch Duncan
Toby McLean
Alex Neal-Bullen
Lachie Hunter
Adam Treloar
Josh Bruce
Zach Tuohy
Jeremy Cameron
Australian Football League
Jackson Macrae
Gary Rohan
Steven Motlop
Caleb Daniel
Tom Liberatore
Mark Blicavs
Robbie Gray
Zach Guthrie
Jayden Hunt
Ollie Wines
Travis Boak
Bailey Dale
Orazio Fantasia
Mitch Hannan
Luke Beveridge
South Australian National Football League
Geelong Football Club
Easton Wood
Cameron Guthrie
Peter Ladhams
Tom Hawkins
Patrick Dangerfield
Taylor Duryea
Rhys Stanley
Josh Dunkley
Shaun Higgins
Josh Schache
Joel Selwood
Ryan Burton
Charlie Dixon
Sam Menegola
Zaine Cordy
Tom Jonas
Aaron Naughton
Bailey Williams
Darcy Byrne-Jones
Clayton Oliver
Max Gawn
Jack Viney
Lachlan Henderson
Jake Melksham
Aliir Aliir
Trent McKenzie
Angus Brayshaw
Alex Keath
Charlie Spargo
Sam Mayes
Bayley Fritsch
Tom Clurey
Dan Houston
Quinton Narkle
Christian Petracca
Adam Tomlinson
Riley Bonner
Jed Bews
Gryan Miers
Jake Kolodjashnij
Jake Lever
Adelaide Oval
Perth Stadium
James Harmes
Mitch McGovern
Connor Rozee
Shaun Burgoyne
Tim English
Christian Salem
Ed Langdon
Harrison Petty
Karl Amon
Steven May
Kane Farrell
Chris Scott
Goal Celebration
Tom Sparrow
Marty Hore
Xavier Duursma
Zak Butters
Willem Drew
Roarke Smith
VFL/AFL Grand Final
Nathan Jones
Mark O'Connor
Isaac Smith
Tom McDonald
Australian Rules Football Position
Sam Simpson
Seven Network
Joel Smith
Tom Stewart
Ben Brown
Todd Marshall
2017 AFL Season
Luke Jackson
Time in Australia
Brisbane Cricket Ground
2017 AFL Finals Series
Melbourne Football Club
Jack Henry
Tom Atkins

MOCK TEAMS: Who's in for the prelims? We make the call

5 min read
fairly easy
Our reporters pick the ins and outs for week three of the finals
FOUR contenders remain in the hunt for the premiership with two blockbuster preliminary finals to decide who meets in the 2021 Toyota AFL Grand Final.

There are injury worries for Geelong and the Western Bulldogs, while Port Adelaide and Melbourne have their own selection headaches.

Our experts have predicted the ins and outs for this week's matches. Did we get it right? Check out our teams below.


First preliminary final

Melbourne v Geelong at Optus Stadium, 5.50pm AWST


B: Michael Hibberd, Steven May, Harrison Petty

HB: Jayden Hunt, Jake Lever, Christian Salem

C: James Harmes, Christian Petracca, Ed Langdon

HF: Kysaiah Pickett, Tom McDonald, Angus Brayshaw

F: Alex Neal-Bullen, Ben Brown, Bayley Fritsch

FOLL: Max Gawn, Clayton Oliver, Jack Viney

I/C: Luke Jackson, Charlie Spargo, Trent Rivers, Tom Sparrow

Emerg: James Jordon, Jake Bowey, Nathan Jones, Jake Melksham

IN: Jayden Hunt, Michael Hibberd

OUT: Jake Bowey, Joel Smith, James Jordon (medical sub)

UNAVAILABLE: Joel Smith (hamstring), Marty Hore (knee), Aaron Nietschke (knee), Adam Tomlinson (knee)

NOTES: Melbourne has more decisions to make in defence. Hibberd is set to return in place of Smith, who hurt his hamstring at training this week and will likely miss the remainder of the season. It could mean a stretched backline, given the height in a Geelong attack that features Tom Hawkins, Jeremy Cameron, Esava Ratugolea and Gary Rohan. Hunt is fit again following ankle surgery, but will his experience earn him a recall over Bowey? The first-year youngster has deputised well in his older teammate's absence, but may be forced into reserve for a preliminary final. The Demons have been reluctant to make unforced changes to a winning team so far this year, but the speed and availability of Hunt could prove too enticing. Jones continues to press his case for a recall, perhaps as the medical sub, while Sparrow should hold his position over Jordon after a composed…
Staff writers
Read full article