Who is BJP leader Bhupendra Patel, Gujarat's new CM?

3 min read
fairly difficult
Gujarat's new chief minister is a first-time MLA from Ghatlodia constituency, which he won in the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections, defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel by 117,000 votes.
Following Vijay Rupani's exit from the top post, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday named first-time MLA Bhupendra Patel as the next chief minister of Gujarat.

The announcement of the 59-year-old's name and unanimous election was made at a legislative party meeting at BJP state party headquarters in Kamalam, earlier in the day. Bhupendra Patel's name was reportedly proposed by Vijay Rupani himself.


Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel is a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Ghatlodia constituency and has previously held the positions of president of Memnagar Municipality in Ahmedabad, and the standing committee chairman of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation and Ahmedabad Urban Development Authority.

At 55, he won the 2017 Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections from Ghatlodia constituency, defeating Congress candidate Shashikant Patel by 117,000…
Read full article