Coronavirus travel bans: Countries impose travel restrictions
4 min read
fairly difficult
Coronavirus travel restrictions around the world: A country-by-country list  USA TODAYView Full Coverage on Google News
Coronavirus travel restrictions around the world: A country-by-country list

As the world works to slow the spread of coronavirus, countries have imposed a variety of travel restrictions.

The measures range from suspending international flights and banning travelers from impacted countries, to requiring citizens or foreign nationals to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.

Government officials across the globe say the travel bans are critical to containing the rapidly spreading coronavirus. Worldwide, more than 7,800 people have died from the virus, and more than 195,000 have been infected, according to Johns Hopkins data. In the U.S. alone there are more than 5,700 confirmed cases with the death toll at 94.

The following is a running list of travel restrictions compiled from government agencies and elected officials. For other countries, check the country-specific U.S. Embassy website.

North America

United States

All foreign nationals from China, Iran and certain European countries are barred from entering the United States. This ban includes anyone who visited these countries within the 14 days prior to their U.S. trip.

The targeted European countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. President Donald Trump later added the United Kingdom and Ireland to this list.

U.S. citizens are allowed to return home but must fly into 13 designated airports and undergo "enhanced entry screening."


On Monday, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced he was closing the country's border to…
Read full article