Florida Senate proclaims Florida State national champion

1 min read
The Florida Senate passed a resolution proclaiming the No. 4 Seminoles, who went 26-5 and won the first ACC regular-season title in school history, "champions by default."
Following the cancellation of the ACC tournament, ACC commissioner John Swofford awards the Florida State Seminoles the conference championship title. (2:00)

The Florida State Seminoles are the national champions -- at least in the eyes of the state Senate.

The coronavirus outbreak put an end to the NCAA men's basketball tournament before it could begin, prompting state Sen. Joe Gruters to introduce a resolution Thursday proclaiming the Noles…
Kyle Bonagura, Jeff Borzello, Tom Vanhaaren, Matt Eisenberg
Read full article