French Open: 'Brutal umpire error' - Andy Murray reacts as Barbora Krejcikova has to win TWICE due to gaffe

www.eurosport.com
3 min read
fairly easy
Barbora Krejcikova eventually won her French Open semi-final against Maria Sakkari in three marathon sets - and she had to close out the match twice.
Barbora Krejcikova eventually won her French Open semi-final against Maria Sakkari in three marathon sets, 7-5 4-6 9-7 - and she had to close out the match twice due to a howler from the umpire.

The Czech player, who prior to this tournament had never reached a Grand Slam final, like her opponent, will now take on Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova after a match which lasted three hours and 18 minutes.

British tennis legend Andy Murray was quick to react on social media after the "brutal" mistake from the umpire denied Krejcikova victory first time round with a dodgy line call.

Roland-Garros 'I was horrified!' - Reaction as umpire wrongly denies Krejcikova victory on match point 18 HOURS AGO

There was incredible drama as everyone in the stadium thought the match had been won - but thankfully for Krejcikova and for justice being done, she was able to close it out at the second attempt shortly afterwards.

To put it simply: the initial line call was 'out', the umpire overruled to say it was 'in', then Hawkeye (which is not used at Roland Garros) proved it was indeed out after all.

'I was horrified!' - Reaction as umpire wrongly denies Krejcikova victory on match point

Krejcikova said she "could not believe it" when she was asked about the decision in the Eurosport Cube after the match.

'I couldn't believe it' - Krejcikova on having to win match twice…
Dan Quarrell
Read full article