IPL 2020: UAE to host tournament from September 19 to November 10 | ESPNcricinfo.com

www.espncricinfo.com
2 min read
fairly difficult
Each squad will be allowed a maximum of 24 players, and unlimited Covid-19 substitiutes | ESPNcricinfo.com
IPL 2020 will take place in the UAE from September 19 to November 10, pending clearances from the Indian government.

During its meeting on Sunday, the IPL governing council decided to set a 24-player limit for each squad, and approved the use of unlimited Covid-19 substitutes.

The window makes IPL 2020 a 53-day event, three days longer than the last two seasons, and the longest of all the eight-team editions of the tournament. Ten of the 53 days will involve double-headers. The matches will be played across Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah, with night matches starting at 7.30pm IST (6.00pm UAE time), and afternoon matches at 3.30pm IST (2.00pm UAE time).

A franchise told ESPNcricinfo that detailed fixtures would be sent to them on Monday, and that the first leg of the tournament will be played behind closed doors. The Emirates board, earlier this week, had shown a keenness to fill the stadiums to 30-50% capacity.

ESPNcricinfo Ltd

A BCCI release said the Women's T20 Challenge would also take place alongside the IPL, featuring three teams playing four matches during the final week of the tournament. The release added that the governing council would finalise and publish its standard operating procedures (SOPs) "in due course, including the agencies to execute and deliver a bio-secure environment for safe and successful conduct of IPL 2020 Season."

In the lead-up to the meeting, it was understood that the date for the final was a toss-up between…
ESPNcricinfo staff
Read full article